Lamar Consolidated Independent School District

Another public school district, the Lamar Consolidated Independent School District is located within the Houston – Sugar Land - Baytown metropolitan region, and serves the following cities:

  • Richmond
  • Rosenberg
  • Simonton
  • Thompsons
It also serves a tiny section of Sugar Land, majority of Fulshear, Pleak Village and the Lakemont community, as well as the unincorporated areas of Booth, Crabb, Cumings and Foster.

The Lamar ISD received an “excellence in education district” citation in2009 from the Houston Education Board (HEB); 93% of its schools were also cited for academic performance. It received exemplary awards from the Texas Education Agency for 15 schools and recognition awards for 11 schools.

Lamar ISD prides itself in the fact that 40% of its teachers have more than 10 years’ teaching experience and 18% of the teachers have advanced degrees.

In 2007-2008, Lamar ISD was the recipient of 55 gold performance awards from the Texas Education Agency for mathematics, science, reading, social studies and writing. Its Speech and Debate Program was also nationally ranked.

A total of 36 campuses make up the Lamar Consolidated Independent School Board:

  • 3 high schools (grades 9-12)
  • 3 junior high schools (grades 7 and 8)
  • 3 middle schools (grade 6)
  • 21 elementary schools (kindergarten to grade 5)
  • And 6 special sites
The district hopes to add two new secondary campuses for the 2010-2011 school year.

For information on Lamar Consolidated ISD:

For information on schools covered by the Lamar Consolidated ISD:
Moving to the Houston area? I can help you with your next move.